Science Fair Updates
Science fair is a big project!
We have chunked it into many small pieces
Library Media Center after school hours with Mrs. M. Jackson,
3:30 p.m.- 5:00 p.m.
Science Fair Central
A bibliography is a list of sources (books, journals, websites, periodicals, interviews, etc.) one has used for researching a topic. Bibliographies are sometimes called "references" or "works cited" and just includes the bibliographic information (i.e., the author, title, publisher, etc.).
An annotation is a summary and/or evaluation.
Therefore, an annotated bibliography includes a summary and/or evaluation of each of the sources. Depending on your project or the assignment, your annotations may do one or more of the following:
* Summarize: Some annotations merely summarize the source. What are the main arguments? What is the point of this book or article? What topics are covered? If someone asked what this article/book is about, what would you say? The length of your annotations will determine how detailed your summary is.
* Assess: After summarizing a source, it may be helpful to evaluate it. Is it a useful source? How does it compare with other sources in your bibliography? Is the information reliable? Is this source biased or objective? What is the goal of this source?
* Reflect: Once you've summarized and assessed a source, you need to ask how it fits into your research. Was this source helpful to you? How does it help you shape your argument? How can you use this source in your research project? Has it changed how you think about your topic?
Your annotated bibliography must include a summary, evaluation and reflection.
The Scientific Method is a systematic way for you to find answers to questions that interest you.
The scientific method consists of six simple steps:
1. Ask a question
2. Do research
3. Form a hypothesis
4. Test the hypothesis with an experiment
5. Analyze and draw a conclusion from your observations
6. Communicate your results
A few special things to remember when using this method are:
- It is a method of research in which a hypothesis is tested by means of a carefully documented experiment.
- The experiment should be conducted in such a way that can be duplicated by another researcher.
The hypothesis must be testable.
- The observations during the experiment must be measurable.
How to Prepare for Science Project- Mrs. M. Jackson
Science Fair Resource Handout-Mrs. M. Jackson